blog

Knives For Aries - Roar Album review and analysis 5/3/24

New Roar album! Roar is a longtime favorite band of mine and i am overjoyed that there is new music, especially because there hasn't been anything since diamond destroyer of death, with 8 tracks it is the shortest roar album to date (not counting eps obv) it was pleasent to see that it maintains a lot of roars sound, its still very dreamy with lots of distortion and melodies. i noticed a common overarching theme was one of internet and social media references. For example, in the second track The body is a temple for heavier metal (my favorite track) , there is the lyric "Nihilist trust-fall into thе paywall of endless potential". References like these are abound. Most obvious in the track titled Obvious (see what I did there), the first line remarks on America Online, what may have been the first place many used the internet. I interpret this song as how most media consumed is now online, and how we didn't realize how far our lives would revolve around the internet. As someone who is trying my hardest to stray away from algorithm driven sites and go back to more old school webpages (can you tell??) So anyways, back to Roar, this album is an easy 5 stars. Every track is rlly amazing and im so glad to have music to listen to

SAW IDKHOW 4/27/24

OH BOY GUYS!! I SAW IDKHOW LAST NIGHT!! it was honestly the best concert ever ever ever because ive been wanting to see them forever and ever!! every moment was amazing of it omfg dallon?!?!?! i saw him!! (if you havent realized i really like idkhow) hmmmm okkkk lets see, well i was really really close to the stage!! like super close!! i was on the far left side of barrier, ive really never been able to see a concert so close, and im so glad that i was that close to this one!! i cried multiple times (clusterhug????? a letter???) and then i also got to be there during votg!!!! i wasnt very close to him for it but yay!! ALSO I GOT THE SETLIST UHM????? THATS THE FIRST TIME I EVER GOT THE SETLIST AT A SHOW AND IM WORKING ON FRAMING IT!! HOORAY!!!!! anyways im so happy still, benches was also really good i liked their outfits, but dallon wore a orange jacket which was so cool, i have some concert photos, here they are hopefully:

redid my site! 4/12/24

i just spent like all day yesterday coding but omfg i'm actually so happy with it! i'm excited to see where this will go! but anyways, i've been pretty good lately! doing stage crew for my school musical, and doing school in general, this isn't a super long entry because i dont have a ton to say!

gloom division 2/23/24

well its finally here, almost, ive been waiting like uh way too long! but yeah, the new idkhow album comes out tomorrow! ive been shaking all day wow! but its fine. im fine (literally going crazy!) im going to an early listening party (thank u to my dad who is driving me, and my brother, who is being nice and riding in the car - he likes idkhow so its kinda fine) but i'm really really so excited, it's gonna be so great i just know it!! ill update with my thoughts after i hear the album whaoo! Update: IVE SPENT ALL DAY LISTENING TO GLOOM DIVISION. THE LISTENING PARTY WAS AMAZING. I LOVE LIFE. I CRIED WHEN I HEARD A LETTER. EVERYTHING IS SO AMAZING. my favorite tracks are sunnyside or satanic panic but i love all of them so much dallon weekes is amazing and im so happy that this album was able to be released, yay!!

saw the hotelier! 2/18/24

last night i saw the hotelier live! it was really special, i went with a friend from school and my dad and we got sushi before, yay! the hotelier is a band that has helped me thru so much, and especially home like noplace is there, so it was amzing seeing it played in full!! i cried during your deep rest because its a song that made me feel so understood when i was going through a really hard time in relation to a friend and honestly afterwards this experience i almost feel freed from it now. it was hard but now i can let go. but ok, so! i was at barrier!! almost!! that was absolutely crazy! ive never ever been at barrier before and it also wasnt a small concert (although ppl werent too densely packed) i yelled every song on home like noplace is there and my voice hurt so much but it was amazing bc everyone was also singing the lyrics. its cool to know that this band whos music resonated so deeply with me also resonated with other people, the visuals were also so cool, they had like old home video style recordings projected, also foxing was touring with them, im not a huge fan but they are soo good and im kinda sad i didnt listen to them more in preparation gahhh :/ and their opener was glitterer! theyre super cool wahoo! but finally, I MET CHRISTIAN HOLDEN! I GOT TO THANK HIM FOR HIS SONGS AND YAY! so yeah, i think its gonna turn out ok for me :3